Tumbleweed Box

tumbleweedbox

This box is actually a makeover for another box named after one of my former kitties.  This machine has an older Enermax Ostrog case, which has plenty of room to work.  It was terrific to work inside this thing.  You could play racquetball inside this case!

I’m thinking the motherboard was an MSI 970 Gaming, but I forget.  The CPU is an AMD FX-8350 with a Cooler Master T3 air cooler.  The graphics card is a Radeon RX 470 with 4 GB of GDDR 5.  There’s 16G RAM for the system.  There’re two WD 1TB HDs and a 500GB SSD from Crucial.

That Radeon RX 470 is still rather new, so I had to use a bleeding edge Linux kernel to support it.  OpenSUSE Tumbleweed’s kernel gets updated very frequently, so that was no problem here.  This testing distribution seems to run fine on this box.  No problems yet.  Well, there was one teensy little problem.  My Gnome terminal didn’t have a transparent opacity function in this distro like it does on OpenSUSE Leap.  Horrors!  I use my shell a lot, and I gots to haz ma transparent opacity!  So I switched to XFCE terminal.  Works fine now, and I can’t really tell the difference between the two terminals!  So it’s not really a problem. Some people don’t like transparency.  I love it.

I was afraid this box was going to run warm because of the CPU.  AMD has that reputation. But no suchness!  It typically runs a chilly 18C inside there.  I’m sure the big green 120mm fan on the T3 helps.

This box is named after one of my earliest kitties.  Her name is holy, so I don’t utter it.  But I love her always.

Leave a Reply

