Enterprise

enterprise

So this was a fun build.  I started about a year ago I think with an i7-4790K cpu and 16G of RAM on an ASRock Z97 Pro board with an ASUS GTX 980Ti GPU.  I added four SSDs and one HD, plus an 802.11ac wireless card.  It dual boots Win 10 and Linux Mint 18 (“Sarah”).  I never have been a huge fan of water cooling, since I don’t overclock much.  A nice big Hyper 212 CPU cooler like this should work just fine in this case.  But as it has turned out, I came into possession of a large Corsair H110i water cooler that needs a larger case like this to fit in.  It has 140mm fans and this case will take them and the radiator they attach to. This case is a Corsair 760T in white, and some white LED fans might pimp the whole thing out nicely.

Since I just run out of room for all my PC projects, perhaps I need to simply evolve the PCs I’ve already built and that already have a legitimate physical place in my house!  Somehow I’ve got to keep from building more new computers.

Enterprise is the only host on my home network that isn’t named after a pet kitty.  I named it after NCC-1701.  Let’s see, was the WW2 aircraft carrier named after that too?  Nope, the chronology doesn’t line up!  (Just kidding, of course.  We learn the real truth from Star Trek Enterprise on the opening credits!!!

I have wasted many hours in front of this machine, playing Call of Duty.  And Doom.  And Wolfenstein.  And a bunch of things I can’t even remember.  So this is one of my favorite boxes.  Not the prettiest, necessarily, but certainly one of the most capable.  And it’s also fun to watch it run Linux.  Mint looks fabulous on it!

Leave a Reply

